Trip to Maun (Botswana)

You can’t pass me
You can’t pass me

18th of February I started in Livingstone and soon it started raining. Just before the border to Botswana it stopped raining. I saw an elephant just after the border in Botswana. I spent the night in the scrub with many marks of elephants. Not until I started to teardown the tent I heard an elephant trumpeting which made me to hurry up. 19th I had to struggle against the wind which came from south-east. I had only once the opportunity to buy something between the border and Nata. In the evening I had to be quick with setting up the tend as there has been a thunderstorm. There had been many marks as well as dirt of elephants. 20th I met and male elephant just next to the road (see photo). First I was worried that I wouldn’t have the opportunity to take some photos of elephants. Therefore I took my photos of this elephant and noticed that it wasn’t in a good mood. The big bull elephant was to near on the road to pass it. I would have driven direct in its tusks. I tried to chase it away, but it didn’t show any willingness to give the way free. Therefore I asked a truck-driver to help me. With this help I could pass it invisible. It couldn’t smell me because of the head wind. But it was till risky. After I passed the 90° bend in Nata I had back wind. I had back wind 21st till early evening. Although it was raining heavily 2 hours I got my best daily record of 268 km. Today I earned my day off.